menu
About MeI write speculative fiction exploring social movements, environmental crises, gender, and identity issues through intricate, dreamlike tales of monsters and + read more magic, generally for ages 14 and up.

Born in Vancouver and raised across Western Canada, and I'm on a mission to find and share magic at home. Look for alt-reality and futuristic versions of Metro-Van & other BC locations in most of my work.

I've written award-winning, translated, indie and traditionally-published short stories, studied children's publishing with Tradewinds Books through UBC, and I'm currently working my way through a well-regarded YA fantasy series, THREADS OF DREAMS.

Notably, I was a guest speaker at the first ORCHIDS Children's Literature Fest in Mumbai and currently serve as a CWILL BC executive team member.

A thoughtful, authentic, and education-oriented communicator, I love connecting with readers and writers, especially the next generation of young storytellers, and welcome inquiries from event planners both at home and abroad.
Show Less


My Work Speaker Info Contact Me
You May Know Me For:
    Literature Types
  • YA Fiction
  • Editorial Services

Published Works
BLIND THE EYES, 2018
-Threads of Dreams book one
-YA dystopian dark fantasy
-Listed in Barnes & Noble Press "20 Favorite Indie Books of 2018"
-A not-quite-alive girl and her not-quite-dead ghost discover trusted authorities lie, allies have their own agendas and even the monsters wear masks in a journey of betrayal, revenge, and finding the power to fight back.

LETTER FROM THE END OF THE WORLD, 2019
-Threads of Dreams side story/short story
-YA/NA feminist dystopian horror
-Second person epistolary end of the world fiction for fans of post-apocalyptic, dystopian, antihero fantasy, morally grey characters, and tragic romance.

LETTERA DALLA FINE DEL MONDO, 2019
-Italian translation of LETTER FROM THE END OF THE WORLD
-Translation by international publisher Virgibooks, Inc.

THE UNSOUGHT LIGHT, 2019
-Standalone short story
-Japanese legend THE MAIDEN OF UNAI retold with a Gothic twist
-Arranged political marriage in a time and place where family fortunes mattered more than individual happiness or choice; historical romance in the vein of Rome & Juliet, but Japanese plus yōkai/monsters.

ON THE EDGE, 2019
-Standalone short story
-First published in the June 2019 issue of Enchanted Conversation Magazine
-Dark fantasy/fairytale travel story of escaping adulthood and hunting magic in historic sites across the UK.

A SONG OF DARK THINGS, 2019
-Standalone short story
-First published in the UNKNOWN REALMS anthology from Fiction-Atlas Press
-YA/NA dark fantasy/fairytale retelling of Scottish Folklore The Fiddlers of Tomnahurich & Thomas the Rhymer set in the modern-day Highlands & Islands region.

Speaking InformationAs a former award-winning teen writer, staff writer (marketing/business development/business analysis) for multiple Vancouver companies, and now a full-time + read more novelist and business-writing/editing freelancer, I love speaking to readers and the next generation of writers about storytelling, writing careers, creativity, the business of writing (both indie and traditional), and resiliency/overcoming challenges and forging your own path (particularly as a woman).

Past presentation topics have included:
-Writing for Youth (how to get started & why everyone's a writer)
-Pathways to Publishing (indies, small-press, big-5 & business tips)
-Monsters & Magic (speculative fiction, truth & escapism)
-Worldbuilding for Writers (how to create the unknown through strategic questions)
-You're Not Finished (grit, glass ceilings, and chasing dreams)

In April 2019, I was honoured to be invited to India to present sessions on how to get started as a young writer, worldbuilding for storytellers, how stories (speculative fiction) reflect and help us in everyday life, and a masterclass for adults on paths to publishing at Mumbai's first (and the world's largest) Children's Literature Fest sponsored by ORCHIDS The International School.

I'm a confident and engaging speaker with experience in a variety of settings (from one-on-one coaching and small workshops to large-group/auditorium venues).

I'm best with pre-teen through adult audiences (I write YA after all!) Ages 8-10 can also be accommodated, but 11+ is ideal.

Willing to travel, schedule permitting, and happy to work with organizers to create a custom presentation, workshop, masterclass, etc. based on themes and needs of your event. I prefer to offer dynamic, flexible/topical presentations or workshops with direct audience engagement where possible, but large-group presentations with or without display graphics are also available.

See CWILL-BC guidelines for fees ("Tips" tab above)—also open to working with custom budgets if needed. Show Less


    I Will Travel To:
  • Vancouver
  • Coast
  • Lower Mainland
  • Gulf and Vancouver Islands
  • Thompson Okanagan
  • Northern British Columbia
  • Cariboo Chilcotin Coast
  • Kootenay Rockies
  • The Territories
  • Canada - beyond BC
  • USA
  • International

    I Present to Age Groups:
  • Grades 4-6
  • Grades 7-8
  • High School
  • College / University / Adult

Request Booking Info


Awards and Recognition:BLIND THE EYES
-Barnes & Noble Press pick for 20 Favorite Indie Books of 2018
-2018 KWL + show more cover contest, SciFi/Fantasy category shortlist
-NetGalley Most Requested fantasy read
-B&N Press pick for 25 Beach Reads for Your Summer Holiday
-Handpicked as a Summer 2018 B&N Press Presents title

HIDING A PEARL
-First, Law Week Short Story Contest 2004

INCOGNITO
-Second, "It's Happening Here" FVRL Teen Writing Contest 2004

Show Less

Latest Tweet